Playing with Google Search Stories

It’s true, I love to play with new toys and tools on the web.

It just so happens that we spent the week talking about writing with technology in both my classes. So, when I saw the news about Google Search Stories, I had to give it a whirl.

It’s the end of the semester and I’ve been thinking about my students and their next steps.  The Search Story below is inspired by them.

The story took me all of 10 minutes to make and upload.  The search options were interesting. For instance, I knew that I wanted to use the image search for “to bloom,” figuring that it would bring up pictures of cheerful flowers. It was serendipitous to find images of Bloom’s Taxonomy sprinkled in as well, which fit the educational theme.

I feel a tiny twinge of guilt when I realize that this is basically an advertisement for Google, even though it is an ad I can customize to do something creative. But, I balance the guilt by thinking that I also showed the students many tools and sites that aren’t part of Google (at least not yet!)

Here’s the search story post that inspired me to try it, from A Year of Reading.

And here’s a post from TechCrunch that links the original Superbowl ad that started Search Stories as well as some clever parodies.

Take a few minutes to play!

3 Responses to “Playing with Google Search Stories”


  1. 1 Franki 04.21.2010 at 10:52 pm

    Love this! Love this whole idea of search stories!

  2. 2 Mary Beth 05.02.2010 at 7:19 am

    I really loved your google search story. It warmed my heart!

  3. 3 Hva er forbrukslån 09.06.2014 at 10:46 am

    Hi there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.

    Is it very difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal
    but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to start.
    Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Appreciate it


Leave a Reply

recent tweets from librarybeth

my photos

Liberation

Writing Outside

Sarah, Natalie, Kelsey

More Photos

