A Preview: Library Research Seminar V

In just a few days, I’ll be headed to Library Research Seminar V (LRS-V) at the University of Maryland. I’ve been looking forward to this conference since I first heard about it two years ago at the International Association of School Librarians conference in Berkeley, California. Friends I met there said that Library Research Seminar was a great venue to share ideas with smart researchers and practitioners from all areas of librarianship.  The program looks excellent. I’ll be attending as many sessions about school and public libraries, youth services, and literacies as I can.

I am grateful to have been awarded a Student Fellowship for LRS-V, sponsored by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.  This fellowship will allow me to attend the conference. In return, I’ll be blogging and presenting a session.  So, you’ll be seeing more posts later in the week about this conference.  I’ll be presenting a session on Friday morning which covers the methodology for my dissertation.  I’m anxious to talk to librarians and researchers about their ideas regarding literacies, ethnography, and youth. I’m expecting to learn a lot!

Since I also spend time on twitter, I’ll be tweeting from the conference at twitter.com/librarybeth.  I’ve been watching twitter recently and have seen little mention of this conference.  I’m hoping this will change as the conference gets closer.  I’ll be proposing the hashtag #lrsv.  Is anyone reading this going to join me?

More soon, from Maryland!

As always, thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

recent tweets from librarybeth

my photos

Liberation

Writing Outside

Sarah, Natalie, Kelsey

More Photos

