Making a Comeback

Image

Graduation Day at UGA

So, it’s been a while since I posted here.

It’s not for lack of things to talk about. Actually, there’s been quite a bit going on in my life over the past year.  Most notably, I completed my doctoral research project and wrote (and wrote and wrote and rewrote) my 296-page dissertation about literacies and a middle school library media program. I defended my paper in May and graduated from the University of Georgia in August, 2012. In between my dissertation defense and graduation, I participated in the Red Clay Writing Project Summer Institute at the University of Georgia.

Both of these experiences, the dissertation and Red Clay, seem like they would provide many insights to blog about, and they did. But, as my major professor told me, there comes a point in the Ph.D. process where even some of the important things have to be set aside in order to get the work done. I’m happy to  agree with that statement from the other side of the fancy-letters-after-my-last-name milestone.

Slowly but surely, I’m regaining many of those important things that had to wait for a while, including blogging. I’m sure I’ll revisit all that’s happened in the past year as time goes on. I’m also anxious to share some of my new experiences teaching master’s students, and working in local K-8 schools in various roles.

For now, I’m hoping my comeback will be like one of those rare and cherished friendships: the kind where six months, a year, even two years can go by, but the moment you get back together, it’s just like you’d never been apart. So, I’m back, hoping to pick up where we left off. Enough about me. How have you all been?

2 Responses to “Making a Comeback”


  1. 1 shellygleaton 10.15.2012 at 2:53 am

    Congratulations!! Now the big question is… will you be walking under the Arch on Tuesday?!?

  2. 2 Téléchargement minecraft gratuit 04.07.2014 at 4:01 am

    Ңi, аfter reading this amazing paragraph і ɑm
    also haply tο share mʏ κnow-how Һere witҺ colleagues.


Leave a Reply

recent tweets from librarybeth

my photos

Liberation

Writing Outside

Sarah, Natalie, Kelsey

More Photos

